Shop at a store near you

You're the One That I Want (Christiansen Family Series #6)

Susan May Warren
You're the One That I Want (Christiansen Family Series #6)

You're the One That I Want is the sixth book in Susan May Warren's popular Christiansen Family series. Owen Christiansen has been in a downward spiral since an injury ended his NHL career. But a job on an Alaskan crabbing boat offers a fresh start . . . maybe even a shot at... Read More

We're sorry, but this item is currently unavailable.
Item # 1599416


Item # 1599416

You're the One That I Want is the sixth book in Susan May Warren's popular Christiansen Family series.

Owen Christiansen has been in a downward spiral since an injury ended his NHL career. But a job on an Alaskan crabbing boat offers a fresh start . . . maybe even a shot at romance with Elise “Scotty” McFlynn, the captain’s daughter. Used to being one of the guys, to never relying on anyone, Scotty doesn’t believe in happily ever after—especially with someone like Owen. Her instinct is confirmed when Casper Christiansen arrives to drag his prodigal brother home, bringing with him a truckload of family drama—and even worse, the news that Casper is wanted for questioning in connection to a crime back in Minnesota.

Product Details:
Page Count: 384
Released: 02/2016
  • Store Only: Yes
  • Product type: Book
  • Format: Softcover
  • Release Date: Feb 1, 2016
  • UPC: 9781414378466
  • Volumes/Discs: 1
  • Pages: 384
  • Publish Date: Feb 1, 2016
  • Language: English
  • Audience Age Maximum: 0
  • Audience Age Minimum: 0
  • BISAC: "FIC045000"
  • ISBN: 1414378467

Customer Reviews

Write your own review

You're reviewing: You're the One That I Want (Christiansen Family Series #6)

    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars

* Required Fields

Lives and love are at stake... by J. Augustine on 9/18/2016

Once again Susan May Warren takes into the lives of the Christiansen clan. The loving, messed up, Bible-believing, squabbling family from Deep Haven, Minnesota. And once again we are reminded of what a messy beautiful thing life can be.

I wasn't sure if I'd really get into You're The One That I Want, honestly, Owen has been my least favorite of the Christiansen siblings, but I've been sold on this series since the beginning so I picked it up without even seeing that it is partly set in Alaska. Now, when it comes to locations in books you pretty much have me sold on anyplace in Ireland or Alaska. So what better way to start a story than with the dangers of life on a crab boat in the icy waters of Alaska?

And you know, it didn't take me long to be totally immersed in Owen and Scotty's story. In fact, I finished this 340+ page book in a single afternoon. Every time I read one of Susan May Warren's books I find a little bit of myself in the characters, You're The One That I Want was no exception. This author has a real knack for understanding people and accurately portraying them on the printed page.

You're The One That I Want is another winner in Susan May Warren's Christiansen Family series, I'm only sorry to have to say goodbye to them...

(I received a copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for my review. All opinions are my own.)

Fantastic Read by Ramona on 4/25/2016

This is the first book I have ready by Ms. Susan May Warren and it definitely will not be the last.

“No one died tonight, not if she could help it.” No one died doing what? Where are they? Who are they? Scotty McFlynn is the captain’s daughter on a crab ship sailing on the Bering Sea. She is a hard-working, tough deck hand who takes no breaks just because she is the captain’s daughter.

Owen, is also a deck hand who is running from his past. He is also a hard worker on the Wilhelmina, and the one who rescues Scotty when she goes overboard in a storm. But that is just the beginning of this story. Do Scotty and Owen live? Will they be rescues from the Bering Sea? What will become of the both of them?

What a wonderful story. Very easy to read. This was a book that I was disappointed to finish.

I received a copy of this book from bookfun.org in exchange for an honest review.

Have a little faith and welcome grace by Anne Rightler on 3/16/2016

You're the One That I Want, although 6th in The Christiansen Family series, is easily a stand alone book, and one that will have readers looking for the first five books. Susan May Warren has given readers a wonderfully written story of hurting people and their journey to forgiveness and healing. The story centers around two brothers and the women they have come to love. Starting out on the deck of fishing boat in the middle of the Bering Sea during a wicked storm and ending at Evergreen Resort, the action, the evocative characters (oh, the ups and downs of emotions throughout!) and the strong reminders of the importance of family and faith in God make this an engaging story from start to finish. Are there really people who live in storybook towns and have happily-ever-after lives? Can you really not out-sin God's love and maybe actually step beyond the name of prodigal into someone loved and accepted? Is it really possible to stop listening to one's failures and perhaps just become better at accepting grace? Warren touches on questions of the heart and soul that are so familiar to people everywhere and gives readers the hope that, despite imperfection and past wrongs, restoration and healing are possible. And perhaps, that happily-ever-after life might just well be at hand too.
I received a copy of this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.

Hang Out with the Christiansen Family One Last Time by Suzie on 1/13/2016

Prodigal son Owen Christiansen has traveled across the country trying to escape his poor choices and the disappointment he knows he’s been to his family. Now in Alaska working on a crabbing boat, he’s drawn to First Mate—who happens to be his captain’s daughter—Scotty McFlynn.

Scotty has grown up with only her gruff father and his rough and rugged fishing crews. Determined to prove herself among them, she has no room in her life for dresses, makeup, or anything girlie. And especially not a romance with one of the guys on the crew. Owen Christiansen will lead to nothing but trouble. At least she keeps trying to convince herself of that fact.

After a rough—and life-threatening—experience at sea, Owen’s brother, Casper, arrives to drag him home, confirming Scotty should not get involved. But when she goes to start her new job as an Anchorage police officer, she ends up with the assignment to escort Owen and Casper—who is wanted for questioning in a crime in his hometown—back to Minnesota. There she finds a family she never had (but always longed for).

The journeys both Scotty and Owen take to faith is well-documented through this beautiful and poignant story. Owen is trying to let go of his past failures and become a man God can use—one of faith and not fear—but the past continues to crowd the present. Scotty is determined to be self-sufficient, to not rely on anyone but herself, especially not Owen’s God. Add in Casper Christiansen—the perfect jealous brother to Owen’s prodigal—an you’ve got yourself a story with not only a little bit of intrigue but with several memorable spiritual lessons.

You’re the One that I Want will be available in stores and online February 1, 2016. Don’t miss how author Susan May Warren effortlessly brings the Christiansen story full-circle. And if you’re one of those people I mentioned in the first sentence, now is the time to introduce yourselves to Derek, Eden, Casper, Grace, Amelia, Owen, and the rest of the Christiansen family.

***Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Loading... Loading...