Shop at a store near you

The Shock of Night (Darkwater Saga Series #1)

Patrick W. Carr
The Shock of Night (Darkwater Saga Series #1)

When one man is brutally murdered and the priest he works for mortally wounded on the streets of Bunard, Willet Dunham is called to investigate. Yet the clues to the crime lead to contradictions and questions without answers. As Willet begins to question the dying priest, th... Read More

We're sorry, but this item is currently unavailable.
Item # 1575595


Item # 1575595

When one man is brutally murdered and the priest he works for mortally wounded on the streets of Bunard, Willet Dunham is called to investigate. Yet the clues to the crime lead to contradictions and questions without answers. As Willet begins to question the dying priest, the man pulls Willet close and screams in a foreign tongue. Then he dies without another word.

Willet returns to the city, no closer to answers than before, but his senses are skewed. People he touches appear to have a subtle shift, a twist seen at the edge of his vision, and it's as though he can see their deepest thoughts. In a world divided between haves and have-nots, gifted and common, Willet soon learns he's been passed the rarest gift of all: a gift that's not supposed to exist.

Now Willet must pursue the murderer still on the loose in Bunard even as he's pulled into a much more dangerous and epic conflict that threatens not only his city, but his entire world--a conflict that will force him to come to terms with his own tortured past if he wants to survive.
  • Store Only: Yes
  • Product type: Book
  • Format: Softcover
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2015
  • UPC: 9780764213465
  • Volumes/Discs: 1
  • Pages: 464
  • Publish Date: Nov 3, 2015
  • Language: English
  • Audience Age Maximum: 0
  • Audience Age Minimum: 0
  • BISAC: "FIC009020"
  • ISBN: 0764213466

Customer Reviews

Write your own review

You're reviewing: The Shock of Night (Darkwater Saga Series #1)

    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars

* Required Fields

Memories Don't Just Disappear by Anne on 2/26/2016

The Shock of Night, first book of The Darkwater Saga by Patrick W. Carr, is a fascinating story that fans of fantasy and suspense will not want to miss. The story grips the reader from the beginning to the end with many twists and turns to keep the pages turning. Carr has created a medieval type world that surrounds The Darkwater Forest, a forest with dark secrets that are being unleashed on the kingdoms around, creating desperation and gloom. It may be a new world the author has created but the struggle of good vs evil, as old as time itself, is here too. Willet Dura, ever troubled by the war of 10 years ago that ended with him being the lone survivor of a troop of men that entered the Darkwater Forest is the King's reeve. He is the 'least of the king's nobility, a lord without land, hardly more than a servant' and yet the King trusts him implicitly. Murders have happened and he is commissioned to find the killer. The more he searches, the more he realizes there is so much more that he needs to know before the mystery can be solved, before the evil can be stopped. He has inadvertently, or perhaps intentionally, been gifted with a gift that places him in a small circle of individuals, The Vigil, the existence of which is little known and oft denied. Can this small band, entrusted with holding back the evil of the Forest, work together to stop the tide of evil? Will they ever accept Dura as one of their own and does he really even want that to happen?Who is at the center of this insidious horror that threatens the kingdom? Carr's descriptions are vivid and rich, the action scenes are fast-paced and suspenseful. His characters are colorful and substantial, believable in this fantasy world and evocative, causing the reader to admire, love or despise. Carr's reminds readers that people are the same no matter what world they live in...plagued by guilt, greed, anger, fear, and at the core--spiritual lassitude. And yet, these same individuals love, extend loyalty, are sacrificial and trustworthy. The Shock of Night is a remarkable start to what promises to be a remarkable series.
The author has written an e-novella prequel, By Divine Right, that gives a helpful backstory to The Shock of Night.
I received a copy of this book through The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.

Epic Fantasy and Suspense is Just Getting Started by Suzie on 12/12/2015

I have two nieces and a nephew who enjoy reading. While I have no problem finding good, clean reads for the girls, the books my nephew might like are a little harder to come by. So I’m always happy when I read a book that I know right away he’d enjoy.

As the king’s reeve (detective or sheriff), Willett Dura’s mission in life consists of seeking out truth and dispensing justice. The king bestowed him with a noble title, and though Dura is the least in the court, he just may be the most loyal to King Laidir.

But Willet’s fascination with death, his desire to know what lies on the other side, also drives him to the place of passing, a place where people go to leave their earthly existence. While investigating a double murder, he visits the place where the second victim is housed. There, the man grabs hold of Willett and says one word.

One word that will change lives. Willett Dura has been given a gift that should not exist, one its other owners strive to keep hidden and secret from everyone. The gift is to see into the mind (and heart) of others. But the gift is a double edged sword. How to you consume so many memories from others and still remain yourself?

As Willett struggles with the gift, the evasiveness of the other members of the vigil with the gift, the contempt of the other nobles, he learns more about his past and the kind of man he is.

There is a lot going on in this book but if you’re a fan of fantasy, suspense, or both, it’s a good read. One that will keep you guessing until the very end and leave you ready for the next book in The Dark Water Saga.

The Shock of Night is available now from book retailers and online.

***Bethany House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Loading... Loading...