• Store Locator

The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery

Martha Ockley
The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery

Faith Morgan, former policewoman and vicar of the small English village of Little Worthy, goes to visit one of her parishioners at his farm, only to discover the house surrounded by police cars. A body has been found in the local river and farmer Markham is charged with murd... Read More

Special Order Only: Arrives in 3- 4 weeks.

Special order items are items we currently don’t have in stock but are happy to order especially for you directly from a vendor or partner. Please note that this special order item has an anticipated lead time of 3 to 4 weeks.
$14.99

Softcover
Item # 1485993



Faith Morgan, former policewoman and vicar of the small English village of Little Worthy, goes to visit one of her parishioners at his farm, only to discover the house surrounded by police cars. A body has been found in the local river and farmer Markham is charged with murder.

Though busy with preparations for Christmas, Faith is called on to investigate when it's found out that the victim is also a member of her congregation--Lucas Kemp, a member of the choir.

Faith's informal inquiries lead her to uncover a hotbed of tensions and romantic rivalries in the choir, questions about drugs, and a run-in with an unsavory uncle--which leads to a dramatic rescue by Ben, Faith's former detective partner and ex-boyfriend.

In the tradition of Father Brown and Miss Marple, The Advent of Murder brings readers an authentic picture of English rural and church life combined with a satisfying mystery that will keep readers guessing until the end.

  • Product type: Book
  • Format: Softcover
  • Release Date: Sep 1, 2013
  • UPC: 9781782640066
  • Volumes/Discs: 1
  • Pages: 255
  • Publish Date: Aug 19, 2013
  • Language: English
  • BISAC: "FIC022030"
  • ISBN: 1782640061

Customer Reviews

Write your own review

You're reviewing: The Advent of Murder: A Faith Morgan Mystery

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars

* Required Fields

Good Story by Deanna on 12/13/2013
Rating

The Advent of Murder by Martha Ockley did not grab my interest at the beginning but the more I read the more interesting the story became. Faith Morgan is the new Vicar of Little Worthy and she is very involved in getting everything ready for the Advent season. It seems that she has so many things to do that she seldom gets enough sleep. When Faith goes to visit one of her parishioners, she learns that a young man from the choir has been murdered. Faith was a policewoman before she became the Vicar, and she cannot help getting involved in the murder investigation in spite of all the other things that she must do before Christmas. Detective Inspector Ben Shorter is Faith’s ex-boyfriend and he resents her involvement in the investigation but once in a while he accepts her ideas.

Characters and their dialogue were very well developed and the characters seemed to come to life on the pages of the book. The plot had many twists and turns and I was kept guessing until almost the end of the book as to the identify of the murderer. There were also several mysteries in the story which added greatly to my enjoyment. The story had quite a few rather unusual characters but they added interest to the story. After finishing the book I had the feeling that maybe Faith had been a better policewoman than she was a Vicar. I was a little surprised at the ending but it was a satisfactory ending.

I would recommend this book if you like mysteries set in England and written by British authors.

Kregel Publications provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

A fun, easy read by Sarah on 12/9/2013
Rating

This is the second of the Faith Morgan Mystery books. I didn’t realize that at first, but as I read there were several times incidents briefly mentioned that I realized must be from the previous novel, The Reluctant Detective. However, it was not a big deal (even though I would prefer to read a series in order), and I was able to follow the story with no problem.

In The Advent of Murder by Martha Ockley, Faith, who was formerly in law enforcement, is the vicar at a small church and is very busy during this Christmas season. It is her first Christmas at this church and she wants to do it right (or at least please some of her picky parishioners). However, murder is not is anyone’s plans!

The story was a fun, easy read. I figured out the connections and solved the murder too soon for me! However, I still looked forward to picking up the book as I grabbed small moments here and there to finish!

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from Kregel Publications in exchange for a fair and honest review.


Activate Your Faith - Phillipians 4:13
Loading... Loading...