• Store Locator

Fatal Exchange

Lisa Harris, Lisa Harris
Fatal Exchange

Considering that Emily Hunt came from a family of cops, she lives a quiet life. Working as a teacher, she commits her time to pouring into her students on a daily basis. But when student Rafael Cerda takes her class hostage for ransom money to save his brother's life-- every... Read More

Special Order Only: Arrives in 2- 3 weeks.

Special order items are items we currently don’t have in stock but are happy to order especially for you directly from a vendor or partner. Please note that this special order item has an anticipated lead time of 2 to 3 weeks.
$14.99

Softcover
Item # 1513177



Considering that Emily Hunt came from a family of cops, she lives a quiet life. Working as a teacher, she commits her time to pouring into her students on a daily basis. But when student Rafael Cerda takes her class hostage for ransom money to save his brother's life-- everything changes.

Undercover cop Mason Taylor has been working with Rafael to find his brother ever since he disappeared. Mason will stop at nothing to find the cartel thugs who took his brother. When Rafael takes the classroom hostage, Mason knows he may be the only one to talk him down.

Fatal Exchange draws readers into a complex matrix of intertwining lives and unraveling secrets, where every answer creates more questions.
  • Product type: Book
  • Format: Softcover
  • Release Date: Apr 1, 2014
  • UPC: 9780800721916
  • Volumes/Discs: 1
  • Pages: 320
  • Publish Date: May 6, 2014
  • Language: English
  • Audience Age Maximum: 0
  • Audience Age Minimum: 0
  • BISAC: "FIC042060"
  • ISBN: 0800721918

Customer Reviews

Write your own review

You're reviewing: Fatal Exchange

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars

* Required Fields

Fast-paced, faith-filled thriller! by Jeanie on 6/26/2014
Rating

In the tradition of Lynette Eason and Robin Caroll, Lisa Harris weaves the perfect blend of faith, suspense, and romance in her latest novel, Fatal Exchange. It is the top notch second tale in the Southern Crimes series, and can be read as a stand-alone book. It is fast-paced, full of heart-pounding danger and action with faith woven in and around a unique twist on one of the most terrifying situations in the headlines today. The characters from the first book, Dangerous Passage, are seamlessly intermingled with enough information to fully appreciate their role in this novel.
Primary characters Emily Hunt and Mason Taylor forge a tentative partnership for which the only purpose is to help a troubled teen, Rafael, who is one of the sons of a widowed mother who works long, grueling hours. Emily comes from a law enforcement family who loves her peaceful life as a private high school teacher. Mason is an undercover detective who has a serious family emergency that is put on hold when the morning that changes many lives begins.
Rafael’s brother is kidnapped by a drug cartel with the threat that if his impoverished family doesn’t pay the ransom demanded, they will kill him. The cartel may be responsible for the murder of at least four other young adults. Emily and Mason plan to do their best to help Rafael and his brother, at least until the nightmare begins and all bets are off.
Fatal Exchange breaks speed limits from the very beginning, progressing with the intensity of an out-of-control race car. Just when it seems that the brakes have finally caught and the car has stabilized, even for a moment, the deadly unexplained acceleration begins again … and the nightmare may never end for Emily and her family.
This is an outstanding, exciting novel which I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys Christian suspense with the potential for romance. The message of faith in God comes through without being “preachy”, and the characters are three-dimensional, believable people with conversations that are well- written and flowing. Fatal Exchange is well-worth the read, not only as an excellent work of fiction but also as an offering to the heavenly Father who gives all good gifts and talents.
I received a copy of this book through the “For Readers Only” group at The Book Club Network, in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own, and no monetary compensation was received for this review.

Magnificennt novel by Michelle on 6/7/2014
Rating

Fatal Exchange by Lisa Harris
Lisa Harris hit it out the park with this one. The last thing in the world Emily Hunt wants is to be is a cop or be in a relationship with one. Having grown up in a family of cops she decides, on a safe career, like a teacher. But her world is turned upside down when her classroom is taken hostage by student Rafael Cerda. Rafael is being controlled by the drug cartel that is holding his brother and mother hostage. Mason Taylor is the undercover cop that has been mentoring Rafael, when Emily’s class is taken he try’s to negotiate their release. When that fails he makes sure he gets in the class to help. As Mason and Emily struggle to survive they fight unwanted feelings for one another.
Fatal Exchange is a magnificent novel, I give it five stars. It is Christian fiction with romance and mystery. Fast paced and full of action it is sure to keep you at the edge of your seat. It is book two of the Southern Crimes Series. You can read this book alone but I am sure you will want to read Dangerous Passage book one in the series.
I want to give a high-five to the author Lisa Harris and publisher Revell for bringing compelling Christian books that are entertaining and give hope to the reader with stories of faith. The Book Club Network Inc. provided me with this book in exchange for my honest review and I am so grateful for their, the authors and publishers generosity.

Wow! What a wild ride! by J. Augustine on 5/15/2014
Rating

Wow! What a wild ride! Just when I thought I had things figured out there would be another plot twist which kept me guessing until the end.

One of the things I enjoy about reviewing is finding new authors to read. I enjoyed this book and will definitely be looking for more books by Lisa Harris, and that sneak peek for the next book in the Southern Crimes series has me gasping to find out what happens next.

I looked forward to every aspect of this book, from the striking cover to the fact Suspense is my favorite genre. Fatal Exchange lived up to all of my expectations and then some. Life and death danger, mystery, double-crosses, romance, a loving family, good friends, and reminders of God's love even in dark times, what more could you ask for in a book?

Lisa Harris is very good at weaving themes of forgiveness, love of family, and sacrifice for others into a riveting suspense story. There is non-stop action and excitement so the reader doesn't feel preached at in the slightest, instead coming away with the need for forgiveness imprinted in the heart and feeling satisfied in the time spent reading.

Fatal Exchange is a real page-turner and is a must read for suspense fans.

(I received a copy of this book from RevellReads for my honest review. All opinions are my own.)

Thinking Thoughts Blog Review by Emilie on 5/10/2014
Rating

Fatal Exchange, the second book in Lisa Harris's Southern Crimes series will keep you guessing until the end.

Mason Taylor has a heart of gold to match his cunning and good looks. He's volunteered his free time, when he's not working as an undercover cop, to work with teen boys who are missing a father-presence in their lives. That's how he met Rafael.

Emily Hunt, with her vintage style and quick avoidance of men in uniform, is a teacher with a mission to dedicate everything she has to her students. Just how far she'll go to protect them is tested when Rafael, one of her favorite students, takes her class hostage.

The excitement just begins there and will keep you wondering how things will work out until the very end. Add a bit of romance, a heaping dose of danger, and you have the recipe for a captivating read.

I enjoyed this novel by Lisa Harris, though I haven't yet read the first in this series, Dangerous Passage, so I can't speak to it as a followup. I enjoyed the guessing game Harris puts her readers through, and found it almost to be more of a mystery than a full, action-packed novel.

There were a few times while I was reading that I felt she belabored the point about something, like several pages of dialogue that went in circles about the same issue. Also, though the novel itself was well rounded, there were times when things seemed to end much too quickly for all of the pent up emotion that went into building the scenarios up. These points, however, didn't stop me from enjoying the read.

I'd recommend this to anyone who likes romantic suspense but is okay with less action and more storyline. The romance is sweet and you'll have no troubles jumping right in to book 2 if you've missed book 1.

Originally posted on my blog: http://eahendryx.blogspot.com/2014/05/fatal-exchange-by-lisa-harris-review.html
_______________
I received a free copy of this book for review purposes, but was under no obligation to read the book or post a review. I do so under my own motivation and the opinions I have expressed in this review are honest and entirely my own.

Cliff Hanger by Sally on 5/8/2014
Rating

Shari Lewis, a puppeteer who worked Lamb Chop, used to end her show with a song:
"This is the song that doesn't end. Yes, it goes on and on my friend."
Like that song, this story goes on and on. Indeed, it even ends with a cliff hanger!

It reads a bit choppy. Every time a conclusion begins, it's closely followed by another beginning. On and on . . .

I think that a novel should have a beginning, a middle, and an end. This story is missing the all-important ending. I suppose the author did this on purpose so that readers would buy the following book. I won't.

I feel gypped.

Thank you to Revell Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group for my copy.

Christian Suspense by Maureen on 5/8/2014
Rating

From beginning to end your heart is going to be in your throat, and your mind is going wild. Fatal Exchange will do this to you and more, don’t let your guard down you will not know what is around the next corner.
Yes, this is the second book in this series, and there are references to the first, which contains a lot of information, is it necessary to enjoy this book to have read the first? No, but don’t deny yourself of another excellent book and great read. We are continuing with the Hunt family, after the loss of their beloved Son and Brother, Michael. There is also a split in the family as to who betrayed him, could it be Marcus?
This book has a bit of everything, including cold blooded murder, school shootings and kidnaping, drugs and drug cartel, we are dealing with the big guys. Can you believe, that almost the whole book takes place in one day, rather like the TV show 24. What a packed full day, and your head will be spinning by the end, we go from one horrible event to another, and who will not know until later just who got shot, and who is responsible.
When you reach the end of the book, you are looking for more, and there is, another book is due out in the Spring of 2015, and when you read the preview you are going to be hooked. I can’t wait now for the new book, will need to review the past two to keep updated when it arrives. This is Christian Suspense at its finest.

I received this book through the Revell Book Blogger’s Tour, and was not required to give a positive review.


Activate Your Faith - Phillipians 4:13
Loading... Loading...