• ABOUT
    Did you know?
    All of our earnings go to Christian charities.
    Click to learn more about us!
  • SHOP
    View the latest sales and promotions going on now!
    When you shop, you give.
  • GIVE
    See our latest Giving Challenge.
  • GROW
    Our blog shares devotionals, interviews, contests & moreā€”all to help you grow in your faith.

  • Unbroken now available on DVD

Mindwar (Mindwar Trilogy #1)

Andrew Klavan
Mindwar (Mindwar Trilogy #1)
Click and hover image to zoom

When Rick lost the ability to run, he came one step closer to becoming a hero."New High Score New Record Time "Rick nodded with grim satisfaction. He laid the game controller aside on the sofa and reached for his crutches.Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High... Read More

$15.99

Softcover
Item # 1519780

Find at Your Local Store:
Go
Need help ordering? Ask a question and we'll get back to you. Or call 1-888-319-0319

Details

When Rick lost the ability to run, he came one step closer to becoming a hero.

"New High Score New Record Time "

Rick nodded with grim satisfaction. He laid the game controller aside on the sofa and reached for his crutches.

Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High School had ever seen. Unflappable. Unstoppable. Number 12. But when a car accident left him crippled, Rick's life as he knew it ended. He disavowed his triumphant past. He ignored his girlfriend. He disappeared into his bedroom--and into the glowing video screen.

But Rick's uncanny gaming skills have attracted attention. Dangerous attention. Government agents have uncovered a potentially devastating cyber-threat: a Russian genius has created a digital reality called the Realm, from which he can enter, control, and disrupt American computer systems . . . from transportation to defense. The agents want Rick, quick-thinking quarterback and gaming master, to enter the Realm and stop the madman--before he sends America into chaos.

Entering the Realm will give Rick what he thought he'd never have again: a body as strong and fast as it was before the accident. But this is no game, there are no extra lives, and what happens to Rick in the Realm happens to Rick's body in reality.

Even after Rick agrees to help, he can't shake the sense that he's being kept in the dark. Why would a government agency act so aggressively? Can anyone inside the Realm be trusted? How many others have entered before him . . . and failed to return?

In the tradition of "Ender's Game" and "The" "Matrix," "MindWar" is a complex thriller about a seemingly ordinary teenager who discovers a hidden gift--a gift that could make him a hero . . . or cost him everything.

"Edgar Award-winning Klavan's well-orchestrated fantasy thriller features . . . an imaginative mix of gaming action with real-life stakes. With just the right cliff-hanger ending, this trilogy opener shows promise." --"Booklist"

Additional Information

  • Product type: Book
  • Format: Softcover
  • Release Date: Jul 15, 2014
  • UPC: 9781401688929
  • Height: 0
  • Width: 0
  • Length: 0
  • Volumes/Discs: 1
  • Pages: 336
  • Publish Date: Jul 8, 2014
  • Language: English
  • Audience Age Maximum: 15
  • Audience Age Minimum: 12
  • BISAC: "JUV001000"
  • ISBN: 1401688926

Customer Reviews

Write your own review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Good for older teens who like video games by SavingsInSeconds.com on 9/3/2014
Rating

Mindwar had a very cool Matrix-meets-Avatar theme. Marketed toward teens, this book delved into the virtual reality of a digital world in which there are no bonus lives. Rick's talent for XBox games turned into a game of life and death as he endeavored to save the world from certain destruction. I can see how this book would be extremely engaging for teens! I had a few issues with it being a teen book, though. For one thing, there are mentions of alcohol (why do we need to know that the Bad Guys drink gin and tonic?). The violent mindset of the story was a turn-off for me as well. It just seemed rather dark for a teen book. The whole idea of living in an alternate reality was quite interesting. I especially loved the vivid descriptions of the characters. It was all very cloak and dagger! I received this book to review. The opinions shared here are 100% mine.

More From Andrew Klavan

Who doesn't love free shipping!? At Family Christian, you can qualify TWO ways:

1. To your door (just $50 minimum)*

No coupon required! Simply add $50 worth of merchandise to your cart and select the "Free Shipping" option under "Shipping Method." Easy as pie.

* Valid on merchandise totaling $50 or more before taxes. Please keep in mind this is valid on domestic ground shipping to addresses within the U.S. only, not valid toward international delivery. Additional charges apply for express shipping. Terms subject to change without notice.

2. To your store (no minimum order required!)*

At checkout, select "Ship to your local Family Christian store" and enter your zip code to find our closest location. Not sure if there is a Family Christian nearby? Find your local store now.

* Valid on select merchandise only
Loading... Loading...