• ABOUT
    Did you know?
    All of our earnings go to Christian charities.
    Click to learn more about us!
  • SHOP
    View the latest sales and promotions going on now!
    When you shop, you give.
  • GIVE
    See our latest Giving Challenge.
  • GROW
    Our blog shares devotionals, interviews, contests & more—all to help you grow in your faith.

  • 1:27 Rewards

Fear Has a Name

Creston Mapes
Fear Has a Name
Click and hover image to zoom

From popular suspense author Creston Mapes comes Fear Has a Name, a tale that follows journalist Jack Crittendon as he fights to protect his family from a stalker’s terrifying schemes, investigates a pastor’s mysterious disappearance and struggles to keep his faith ami... Read More

$14.99

Softcover
Item # 1448118

Find at Your Local Store:
Go
Need help ordering? Or call 1-888-319-0319

Other Formats


Details

From popular suspense author Creston Mapes comes Fear Has a Name, a tale that follows journalist Jack Crittendon as he fights to protect his family from a stalker’s terrifying schemes, investigates a pastor’s mysterious disappearance and struggles to keep his faith amidst unthinkable fear.

With his family’s safety on the line, Crittendon realizes there are secrets behind "Christian" walls - secrets with painful, deadly implications. He must find the faith to trust a God who allows inconceivable trials, and the courage to guard his family, with danger exploding at every turn.

Through it all, the sharp, character-driven writing for which Mapes is known takes readers on an edge-of-your-seat journey that explores the harsh, far-reaching consequences of bullying and the Christian response to fear in this installment of The Crittendon Files.

"Captivating from breathless start to throat-clenching finish, Fear Has a Name possesses everything a great thriller should, and more. A must read for fans of Terri Blackstock and Brandilyn Collins." - Tamera Alexander, USA Today bestselling author of To Whisper Her Name and A Lasting Impression

Product Details:
Page Count: 432
Released: 06/2013

Additional Information

  • Product type: Book
  • Format: Softcover
  • Release Date: May 10, 2013
  • UPC: 9780781408165
  • Height: 0
  • Width: 0
  • Length: 0
  • Volumes/Discs: 1
  • Pages: 448
  • Publish Date: Jun 1, 2013
  • Language: English
  • Audience Age Maximum: 0
  • Audience Age Minimum: 0
  • BISAC: "FIC042060"
  • ISBN: 0781408164

Customer Reviews

Write your own review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Excellant thriller - can't put down by Laura on 12/8/14
Rating

This is the first book I have read from this author. Totally taken by surprise. The emotional roller coaster and suspense, at one point, I had to scream: NOoooooo!
Must read. Recommending to all my friends.

Thrilling!! by Sherri Wilson Johnson on 7/3/13
Rating

I began Fear Has a Name late one Saturday night, thinking I'd just read the first chapter to get my feet wet and then pick it back up the next night. Well, little did I know it was going to suck me in and almost make me late for church the next morning because I stayed up too late reading. The story starts with a home invasion that leaves you a little unnerved and hoping you locked your doors before you went to bed. There's more to this story than just the break-in though. There's a web of interconnected characters that each have questions in life that need answering. I found myself sympathizing with characters I normally wouldn't have—like the bully. There is a struggling minister in this story and, having been in the church and in a pastor's family for most of my life, I truly related to the angst this family felt. Toward the end of the book, the tension and thrilling fast-paced scenes just about made me chew my nails off. I recommend reading this book today!

Thrilling Read! by Smiling Sally on 6/17/13
Rating

What a terrific read! Creston Mapes knows how to create suspense; yet, at the same time, he knows just when to cut the tension. Two intricate story lines are interwoven: the stalking of a newspaper reporter's family and a megachurch's missing pastor.

When trouble comes his way, Jack Crittendon sometimes wonders if God is really in control. How can God allow bad things to happen to one of His people? And, for what reason might trouble come our way? Jack tends to feel as if he alone is responsible for the protection and safety of his wife, Pam, and their children. Jack's faith is sorely tested in this novel, and questions most people wonder are answered. The complex tale has a satisfying conclusion.

The novel tests the reader. I found myself wondering what I'd do if confronted by the same situations. How important is abiding faith? How deep is mine? Could God use someone who is at the end of his/her rope? Does forgiveness and love really make a difference?

Characters are fleshed out; I could relate to all but one. The character of Valerie Belinds McShane intriques me. She would make for an interesting discussion in a book club setting.

Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and David C. Cook for my copy.

If you would like to read the first chapter, click here.

If you would like to buy a copy, click here.

Compelling Suspense! by Nancee on 5/23/13
Rating

In this multilayered suspense novel two families share common bonds that are interwoven by circumstances that overlap throughout the narrative. The entire essence of the Crittendon family is transformed into an intense atmosphere of anxiety and chaos by a stranger who forces his way into their home and lives, shaking them to the core. Jack Crittendon, a news reporter, was assigned to investigate the sudden disappearance of Evan McDaniel, senior pastor at a local church. A church publication reported his disappearance as being linked to missing medications and a suicide note. Pastor McDaniel's history of depression becomes the focus of attention regarding his disappearance. The McDaniel family is thrust into confusion and distress regarding the circumstances surrounding the mysterious absence of Pastor Evan, his wife insisting that he was not suicidal. What actual events led to the pastor's sudden disappearance, and who is stalking Jack Crittendon's wife?

The first in The Crittendon Files series, this suspense-filled drama is made remarkable by unforeseen events keeping the reader absorbed and captivated! The situations and predicaments that flare are totally absorbing, replete with an abundance of energy. Faith is a recurrent theme throughout and ultimately leads to peace when all else fails. Creston Mapes has produced a dramatic unfolding of events that capture the reader's attention and lead to numerous bizarre yet inspirational situations. This book is suspense filled, dramatic, compelling, inspirational and impressive.

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book through Wynn-Wynn Media for the express purpose of my honest review. All stated opinions are mine and I received no monetary compensation for this review.

More From Creston Mapes

Who doesn't love free shipping!? At Family Christian, you can qualify TWO ways:

1. To your door (just $50 minimum)*

No coupon required! Simply add $50 worth of merchandise to your cart and select the "Free Shipping" option under "Shipping Method." Easy as pie.

* Valid on merchandise totaling $50 or more before taxes. Please keep in mind this is valid on domestic ground shipping to addresses within the U.S. only, not valid toward international delivery. Additional charges apply for express shipping. Terms subject to change without notice.

2. To your store (no minimum order required!)*

At checkout, select "Ship to your local Family Christian store" and enter your zip code to find our closest location. Not sure if there is a Family Christian nearby? Find your local store now.

* Valid on select merchandise only
Loading... Loading...