• Store Locator

Be the Best Mom You Can Be: A Practical Guide to Raising Whole Children in a Broken Generation

Marina And Gregory W. Slayton, Marina Slayton, Gregory Winston Slayton
Be the Best Mom You Can Be: A Practical Guide to Raising Whole Children in a Broken Generation

Marina Slayton and her husband, Gregory, best-selling author of Be a Better Dad Today, reveal the secrets to finding true joy in the sacred role of motherhood. Using story, humor, empathy, common sense, and straight talk--grounded in reality and personal experience--Be the B... Read More

We're sorry, but this item is currently unavailable.
Item # 1552343

$22.99

Hardcover
Item # 1552343



Marina Slayton and her husband, Gregory, best-selling author of Be a Better Dad Today, reveal the secrets to finding true joy in the sacred role of motherhood. Using story, humor, empathy, common sense, and straight talk--grounded in reality and personal experience--Be the Best Mom You Can Be helps readers from the best and most influential mothers in history. The book centers on a mother's desire for wisdom and her commitment to the well being of her husband and children and provides six time-tested principles (the Six Secrets) for being a truly great mom.

In the tradition of Stormie Omartian's and Barbara Rainey's books, the Slaytons offer value-based inspiration, a warm and personal tone, and insightful secrets to both educate and equip moms to be the best mothers they can be. This book will help any mom who wants to grow in her sacred role. Women who need encouragement or advice or who feel ill-equipped to be mothers will find the straight-forward evangelical perspective and practical advice life-changing.
  • Store Only: Yes
  • Product type: Book
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Release Date: Apr 14, 2015
  • UPC: 9780718022143
  • Volumes/Discs: 1
  • Pages: 256
  • Publish Date: Apr 14, 2015
  • Language: English
  • Audience Age Maximum: 0
  • Audience Age Minimum: 0
  • BISAC: "REL012030"
  • ISBN: 0718022149

Customer Reviews

Write your own review

You're reviewing: Be the Best Mom You Can Be: A Practical Guide to Raising Whole Children in a Broken Generation

  •  
    1 star
    2 stars
    3 stars
    4 stars
    5 stars

* Required Fields

Fantastic Book by Olivia on 11/9/2015
Rating

As a first time Mom, I have encountered more challenges than I can count. I truly enjoyed this book as it encouraged and challenged me to be the best Mom that I can be to our little guy. This book shows how being a Mom is the most challenging yet most rewarding job in the world and how you can be the best Mom that you can be with the help of God and others around you. I love how at the end of each chapter, the author shows a summary with some questions to ask yourself, and a summary of the chapter. This includes verses and all as well as some high points of the chapters. I will be referencing these summaries when I need some help or encouragement or even a reminder. This book is an encouraging resource for the new Mom or seasoned Mom as it shares ideas and lessons for you no matter what phase of life you're in. I know that as our little guy grows, these concepts will keep being applied in different ways. I highly recommend this book.

Best resource! by Jess on 10/26/2015
Rating

This is the first book I have read geared towards Christian parenting and it was honestly one of the best books I have read on parenting, ever.
Marina Slayton does not tell you what a horrible parent you are and how you should and could do better. Instead she goes through and talks about things real mom's want and need to know, like: Love being the foundation, breaking generational curses, mom's not being perfect (she herself is a yeller/screamer which goes to show that none of us our perfect parents), and dynamic mom's just to name a few.
At the end of each chapter (their are 13) she offers a recap (normally verses), some questions to ask yourself, and a summary of the chapter.
I think one of the things Marina said that hit home for me was, (Not a direct quote but a general quote) "God wants you to be the minister to your family." I myself have struggled with my purpose, but after this book, I see that my purpose and my ministry is my own children. All else is extra.
I would definitely buy this book (as a gift for other mom's) and recommend that all Christian moms read this book (mom's in general should read this book).
I received a copy of this book free for my review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

Finding Godly Ways to Parent in a Broken World by Melanie on 7/14/2015
Rating

Parenting is difficult. And it is, in many respects, more challenging now than perhaps any generation before this. While we’ve made amazing advances in technology, it also brings unique challenges, sometimes often especially for parents desiring to successfully and morally raise their children. As mothers, we get a bird’s eye view on a daily basis of what “perfection” looks like through social media. But as we all know, what we see isn’t always telling a true story. There is no true perfection but we can definitely take solid steps to parenting our children successfully and arm them with the love and teachings of Christ in a broken world.

In this book, Marina Slayton and Gregory W. Slayton (author of Be a Better Dad Today) teach us that love is the very foundation on which successful parenting raising whole children is built. Loving them and making sure they feel loved has been shown to be the most important factor in children maintaining their faith as they grow into adulthood.

This book guides us through some of the “tough questions” about sex, drugs, and dating and how to address each with our children. The book also stresses the importance of keeping communication lines open with your children and dealing with social media and all that it entails.

A bonus of this book that I personally enjoyed is the end-of-chapter points to ponder for diving deeper into the topics, assessing what was learned, and applying it to our lives.

Tremendous Encouragement for Moms by Meghan on 5/23/2015
Rating

{This post is sponsored by Family Christian. All opinions are honest and my own.}

It's not often that a non-fiction book grabs my attention. I gravitate toward story and the truths gleaned through others' experiences. Some of the parts of the Bible that speak most to me are the parables that Jesus told. But when I had the opportunity to review Marina Slayton's nonfiction book Be the Best Mom You Can Be, I knew it would most likely be a keeper.

I have often thought of writing a book on mothering, what I've learned in my fifteen years and through six children. Something that could be offered through my blog. But Marina Slayton beat me to it. With just a couple of minor differences in opinion, this is the book I would write. She addresses so many topics relevant to mothering in today's dangerous world along with generous allotments of encouragement and helpfulness. Here are a few chapter titles and subdivisions with a couple of quotes.

Love Is the Foundation {YES!!}
"Children are born with an innate ability to look for love in the right place: their parents. But if we reject our own children, what will they do as teens and adults? They will seek love in all the wrong places. Kids are not fooled. They can discern when the people who are supposed to love them most do not."

A United Family: Building Belonging
"How do we as parents give our children the strength they need to put love and wisdom into practice? The truth is that the sense of belonging that comes from a strong family will be a fountain of strength for each of our children for their entire lives."

Breaking Generational Curses: Wholeness Is Possible
"By giving in to a curse like favoritism, we are also depriving our children of one of the most important relationships of their lives: the sustaining friendship of their siblings. There is no one like your brother or sister with whom to share memories, laugh about old stories, and smile over past experiences. These qualities make brothers and sisters potentially the best friends anyone could ever have."

The Dangers of the Electronic World
"Kids need to learn how to spend the day productively apart from electronics, and they should be steered to satisfying activities and entertainment."

Many times I said out loud, "Amen, sister!" Then, I looked around to see if anyone had heard me. :)

Like I said, I love story. I think this book could have benefitted from a few more personal stories or examples, either the author's or someone else's. But the stories that were included were gasp-worthy and convicting.

If you want some solid direction and encouragement in your mothering, this is the book for you.

Encouraging, biblical guide for moms! by Gina B on 5/19/2015
Rating

This is a good book for moms who need encouragement. Slayton’s advice is not just Biblical, it’s intensely personal as she share her struggles, failures and issues with her own mother. She deals with the problems that Christian moms face today: generational curses, kids' social pressure for academic achievement, the busyness of modern life and includes a chapter for single moms. The chapter I related to most was “Working Moms: Excellence, Not Success.,” where she talks about margin – a parenting strategy that changed my life for the better when I discovered it. I recommend this book. While it can be a little wordy at times, Slayton gives solid, actionable tips. She ends each chapter with scripture and reflection on how to implement what you’ve learned to help your family.

I received a copy of this book for review; all opinions are my own.

Great Book by Amanda on 5/14/2015
Rating

Lots of great and practical wisdom and thoughts in this book. It takes mothering principles that have been around for generations and applies them to current culture and challenges. Very practical for this media and busy age of life that we are in. Motivating and Encouraging to all moms no matter what season or occupations. This book would be great to do with a friend over coffee once a month or so and be able to talk about the principles and how you can implement them at home.


Proclaim the Good News | Mark 16:15
Loading... Loading...